What's the tattoo?

A tattoo is a form of body modification made by inserting ink, dyes, and/or pigments, either indelible or temporary, into the skin's dermis layer to form a design. The art of making tattoos is known as tattooing. Tattoos comprise three broad categories: purely decorative, symbolic, and pictorial.