What is the term fifty one fifty mean?

51 50, is the number of the section of the Welfare and Institutions Code, which allows a person with a mental challenge to be involuntarily detained for a 72-hour psychiatric hospitalization. A person on a 51 50 can be held in the psychiatric hospital against their will for up to 72 hours.