What is a valkyrie?

In Norse mythology, a Valkyrie is one of a host of female figures who choose those who may die in battle and those who may live. Selecting half of those who die in battle, the ones who have been the most valiant, the Valkyries take their chosen to the hall of Valhalla, where they live forever.