Who played the wicked witch of the east in the wizard of oz?

The Wicked Witch of the East was not an acting nor speaking role in the original Wizard of Oz movie. The character was crushed by Dorothy's home and referenced by Glinda, the good witch. The wicked witch of the West was portrayed by Margaret Hamilton, who also played Miss Gulch while in Kansas.