What is the center of a hurricane called?

At the center of a fierce tropical storm, there is a small area where the weather is calm, the sky is clear, and the winds are just light breezes. This area is called the eye of the storm. As a hurricane strengthens and wind speeds increase, an eye begins to form at the center of the storm.