What is a banana butterfly?

The expression "banana for butterflies" is a reference to the use of old bananas to give autumn butterflies a sugary treat they will lap up. Many butterflies like a sweet boost to help them stay fit and healthy during the autumn, and some need the energy to see them into hibernation.