Does the numbers ever end?

No, numbers are infinite. You can always add +1 to a positive number to get the next greatest number. You also always subtract 1 from a negative number to get the smaller number, so negative numbers are also infinite. Even the amount of decimal numbers between 2 consecutive integers is infinite.