Tell me black history facts?

John Mercer Langston was the first black man to become a lawyer when he passed the bar in Ohio in 1854. He was elected to the post of Town Clerk for Brownhelm, Ohio, in 1855. Langston became one of the first African Americans ever elected to public office in America.