How many stars on rotten tomatoes does?

Rotten Tomatoes scores are based on a percentage (ranging from 0% to 100%, one hundred being the best and zero being the worst). If a movie's score is equal to or above 60%, the movie is considered “fresh”, while if it is below 60% it is considered “rotten”.