How do i pick the perfect watermelon?

Big or small, the watermelon should feel heavy for its size. Look for the yellow spot: Watermelons develop a splotch where they rest on the ground. When this splotch is creamy yellow, it's ripe. Give it a thump: Tap the underbelly of the watermelon. A ripe one will have a deep hollow sound.