Who created the vacuum?

In 1860 a manual vacuum cleaner was invented by Daniel Hess of West Union, Iowa. Called a 'carpet sweeper', It gathered dust with a rotating brush and had a bellows for generating suction. The vacuum, or lack of everything, existed long before the cleaner.