Who invented chicken tenders?

According to wikipedia.org, Chicken fingers were first made and named by the owners slash operators of Spanky's in Savannah, Georgia. One of the original owners, Ansley Williams, continues to operate Spanky's today and it is known as the Home of the Original Chicken Finger.