How many times can you fold a piece of paper?

It was an accepted belief that folding a piece of paper in half more than 8 times was impossible. On 27 January 2002, high school student, Britney Gallivan, of Pomona, California, folded a single piece of paper in half 12 times. The tissue paper used was 4,000 ft long.