Where does the word lazy susan come from?

According to lore, Thomas Jefferson invented a device known as a "dumbwaiter" for his daughter Susan. Regardless of the origins of the name, by 1917 it was advertised in Vanity Fair as a Revolving Server or Lazy Susan, but the term's use predates the advertisement and likely the country.