Are black eyed susans perennials or annuals?

Blooming mainly in summer, black-eyed Susans (Rudbeckia hirta) commonly grow 24 inches tall with signature yellow to orange petals and a dark center point. Although the blossoms appear fragile, these perennials have a strong root system that often allows the plant to rejuvenate itself every year.