Do upholstered beds need a boxspring?

Unless the upholstered bedframe specifically says it requires a box spring. Most bed frames do not require it but it is a smart decision to help prolong the life of your mattress. A proper base or box spring will keep your mattress from developing sunken in spots and lumpiness.