Who is the first one to make potato chips?

The potato chip was invented in 1853 by George Crum. Crum was a chef at the Moon Lake Lodge resort in Saratoga Springs, New York, USA. French fries were popular at the restaurant and one day a diner complained that the fries were too thick.