What does expound mean?

Expound means presenting, explaining, or proposing an idea, theory, or position in detail.

---

Accepted definitions of "expound" include the following: a) present and explain (a theory or idea) systematically and in detail. "he was expounding a powerful argument"; b) explain the meaning of (a literary or doctrinal work). "the abbess expounded the scriptures to her nuns".