How long does it take to poach an egg on the stove top?

One or two minutes at the most--unless you want a very well-done egg. Boil some water in a shallow pan, then remove it from the heat, or turn off the gas. Crack the egg into the hot water carefully and spoon a little over the top. It will cook in about two minutes.