Why is the country turkey called turkey?

The English name Turkey, for the modern Republic of Turkey, is derived (via Old French 'Turquie' spelt T U R Q U I E) from the Medieval Latin 'Turchia' T U R C H I A. 'Turquia' was first recorded in Middle English (as Turkye, spelt T U R K I E later T U R K Y), used by Chaucer, about. 1369.