Why is the country turkey called turkey?

It is called TURKIYE, but in English, you call it Turkey. It is possibly Americans believe that animal Turkey comes from the land of Turkey.

---

The English name Turkey, for the modern Republic of Turkey, is derived (via Old French 'Turquie' spelt T U R Q U I E) from the Medieval Latin 'Turchia' T U R C H I A. 'Turquia' was first recorded in Middle English (as Turkye, spelt T U R K I E later T U R K Y), used by Chaucer, about. 1369.