What is your heart beat?

Your heart beat is a contraction of myocardial muscles. This moves blood through the chambers of the heart and results in the closing of the valves located within. These valves create the sound of the heat beat.

---

A normal resting heart rate for adults ranges from 60 to 100 beats per minute. Generally, a lower heart rate at rest implies more efficient heart function and better cardiovascular fitness. For example, a well-trained athlete might have a normal resting heart rate closer to 40 beats per minute.