What happened in the year nineteen forty two?

Following events happened in 1942 Singapore and Kuala Lumpur, falls to the Japanese. American naval victory at Battle of Midway. Germany suffers setbacks at Stalingrad. Something you also like to know that an American house in 1942 cost $3,775, a new car $920, and a movie ticket 30 cents.