What can you use as a substitute for white wine vinegar?

If you can't get white vinegar, substitutes include: red wine vinegar, unseasoned rice vinegar, white wine, lemon juice, or most other vinegars. White wine vinegar has a distinctive flavor, so substitution will change the flavor of your recipe.