Why can't dogs speak like humans?

Here's why. The study found that dogs' brains cannot distinguish words that differ by a single speech sound, such as "dig" versus "dog," or "sit" versus "set." This makes dogs similar to human infants, who also can't distinguish between words with similar sounds.