Why did they name the snowman parson brown?

The song "Winter Wonderland" was written in 1934 by Felix Bernard and lyricist Richard B Smith. Richard B Smith was reportedly inspired to write the song after seeing Honesdale's Central Park covered in snow, no information was given why he choose to name the snowman Parson Brown.