Who was the quarterback for the pittsburgh steelers before ben roethlisberger?

As Quarterback for the Pittsburgh Steelers, Ben Roethlisberger was preceded by Tommy Maddox (2002 and 2003), and him by Kordell Stewart ( 19 97 through 2001 ).