What's the difference between a red bird and a cardinal?

Cardinals are a specific species of red birds, but all red birds are not cardinals.

---

Cardinals are red birds, but not all red birds are cardinals. The main difference between a red bird and the male cardinal is the crown. The male cardinal is the only red bird with raised crown feathers. Another difference between a red bird and the male cardinal is their size.