How long does it take water to start boiling?

On average water takes approximately 10 to 15 minutes to boil. Many factors such as amount of water, how hot the burner is and the type of burner will alter this time.

---

How long it takes water to boil depends on many factors. They are, the starting temperature of the water, how much water is there, how quickly is heat being added, and what is the elevation where the water is. It will take about ten minutes to boil 2 cups of room temperature water at sea level.