How did jellyfish sting?

Jellyfish belong to a phylum of animals called cnidaria. Many cnidaria have specialized nematocysts that work like a tiny venom-tipped, spring-loaded harpoon. These are often found in their tentacles.

---

Each jellyfish tentacle is covered with thousands of cells called cnidoblasts, which house nematocysts containing stinging threads. ... The stinging cells spring out at the unwitting victim like tiny darts, firing venom into it.