What is the sauce pan look like?

A saucepan is a pan with deep sides, a single long handle, and a tight-fitting lid. They generally have a diameter of between 6 and 10 inches, and usually hold between 1 and 5 quarts of liquid. They are great for making sauces, hence the name.

---

A saucepan has a distinct shape: It's deep with high sides and straight edges, and usually features a long handle and, quite often, a lid. Its surface area is generally small relative to its height, allowing heat to be evenly distributed through the liquid in the pan.