What's the difference between the two sides of aluminum foil?

One side is shiny the other is dull. The shiny side reflects hear and the dull side absorbs the heat. Depending on which side you place towards the food determines if the heat is reflected back towards the food or away. For example, bake potatoes shiny side in. Edge of a pie shiny side out.