What is the acronym i. e. stand for?

The acronym. "i. e." is an abbreviation for the Latin phrase - id est - which translates to English as "that is". In writing it means "in other words". It is not to be confused with or substituted for the abbreviation. "e. g." which stands for exempli gratia and means "for example".