How long can a free diver hold their breath?

In 2012, German freediver Tom Sietas held his breath underwater for 22 minutes and 22 seconds, besting Dane Stig Severinsen's previous record by 22 seconds. (Guinness still lists Severinsen as the record holder, stating he hyperventilated with oxygen before his attempt for 19 minutes 30 seconds.)