Why do they call it a honeymoon?

The word honeymoon derives from the Old English hony moone. Hony refers to the new marriage’s sweetness, as well as a reference to the European custom of giving newlyweds enough mead, “an alcoholic liquor made by fermenting honey and water,” to last a month. That would keep many a couple happy

---

Many weddings take place in June, and the full moon in June was called the Honey Moon, thus, the month after the wedding was during the Honey Moon!