Can you substitute walnuts for pecans?

Yes. In most recipes walnuts are interchangeable in equal measure if you don’t have pecans on hand. Pecans have a more delicate flavor than walnuts, so the taste may vary slightly. You can also try substituting peanuts, pistachios, cashews, and macadamia nuts for pecans.