How do i know when a pomegranate is ready to eat?

Skin on pomegranate fruits shifts from being smooth and hard to slightly rough and softer as they ripen. Skin on ripe fruits should be easy to scratch with a fingernail. Mature fruits with any skin cracking are usually ready for harvest