How are kosher dill pickles made?

A pickle is made by brining a cucumber in a solution of water and salt. Sometimes, the brine is emulsified with polysorbates, which are made from animal fat. If the polysorbates are from kosher animals, such as cattle slaughtered in accordance with kosher law, the pickles would be considered kosher.