Is spicy brown mustard and dijon mustard the same thing?

No. Dijon mustard is not really as hot as spicy brown, but it does have a very sharp mustard flavor. Both are made from brown mustard seeds (or black for spicy brown). Dijon mustard seeds are soaked in white wine or a similar liquid; spicy brown mustard seeds are soaked in vinegar.