How do you know if confectioner sugar is bad?

Confectioner's sugar usually comes with a shelf life of one to two years, but if stored properly, it stays fine indefinitely. you can tell if it's bad if you notice any signs of mold, pantry pests, or the powder smells off. Keep confectioner's sugar at room temperature, in a sealed bag or container.