How did harry houdini get perinton itis?

The official cause of Harry Houdini's death was listed as peritonitis caused by a ruptured appendix. At the time, the magician's doctors firmly believed that the illness was the result of the walloping J. Gordon Whitehead had given him during their backstage encounter in Montreal.