Are plastic bags legal in washington state?

No, Responding to growing plastic bag pollution, the Legislature in 2020 passed a statewide ban on single-use plastic bags. This new law bans single-use plastic bags to reduce marine plastic pollution, litter, and waste. The law will reduce contamination in commingled recycling and compost systems.