Why did the indians scalp their victims?

Native Americans in the Southeast took scalps to achieve the status of warrior and to placate the spirits of the dead, while most members of Northeastern tribes valued the taking of captives over scalps. Among Plains Indians, scalps were taken for war honors, often from live victims.