How do you measure a year in a life?

Get measuring cups. Start with the biggest cup you can fill and count how many times you can fill it. Then get the next largest cup you can fill and repeat the process. Do this until you are out of liquid or you do not have a small enough measuring cup. Add the numbers multiplied by cup size.