What did o'henry right?

O. Henry's stories were famous for ironic endings. In "The Gift of the Magi" the newly married couple are poor. The wife has beautiful long hair and the husband has an expensive pocket watch. She sells her hair to buy him a watch fob, and he pawns his watch to buy her a silver brush and comb set.