What does dry wine mean?

A dry wine is simply a wine that has no residual sugar, meaning it isn't sweet. When grape juice converts to wine, alcohol is produced in the fermentation process because yeast eats the sugar present in the juice. ... No more sugar, so no sugary sweetness; the wine is therefore dry.