Why do wolves eyes turn red in minecraft?

In Minecraft, before wolves are tamed they are considered wild. When they attack a sheep to eat it their eyes turn red. Once you tame a wolf it's eyes will not turn red again unless someone or something attacks you. So basically red eyes means it is angry or going to attack something or someone.