What does d. i. t. h. e. r. mean?

"Dither," spelled D-I-T-H-E-R, means to be indecisive. Or, it can mean to add white noise to a digital recording to reduce distortion. But it's usually the first one. Though sometimes it's a state of agitation. You decide, based on context.