How often do humans taste buds change?

Taste Buds change every 5 to 7 years and during these tansitional (sic) periods (lasting up to 6 months) we find that we begin to like the flavor of some things but not others and vis-a-versa (sic). When your new taste buds erupt, is when you should be trying all kinds of new foods and flavors.