What does it mean to deglaze a pot?

After you have cooked food—usually meat, poultry or fish—in a pan, little browned bits are left on the bottom of the pan. When you add liquid, such as wine, broth or cream, and stir those bits off the bottom of the pan, they impart lots of flavor into the liquid—that is deglazing.