Where did the term black irish come from?

The Viking and later French invaders who landed on Irish shores brought with them new customs and characteristics to native Irish people and Ireland’s culture. Then came the Normans. The term's most likely reason is to describe an intent as ‘dark invaders’ or ‘black foreigners’ of the Irish country.